George C. Marshall Fellowship

George C. Marshall Fellowship

Providing opportunities to develop grand strategy and practice strategic leadership

The Heritage Foundation’s George C. Marshall Fellows program provides exceptional young professionals with the opportunity to appreciate the development of grand strategy and the practice of strategic leadership. The program strives to provide a comprehensive overview of national security principles and to explain the application of those principles in real-life situations.

Today, many top-level staffers and other professionals around Washington, D.C., are educated in one specific aspect of national defense or foreign policy but have very little sense of where their expertise fits into the larger framework of national security. A comprehensive overview of national defense and foreign policy is vitally important because those who are charged with making important decisions must be able to do so in the context of the satisfying the overall national security priorities of the country, versus one particular area.

In previous years, special speakers for fellowship events have included notable figures from the national security and foreign policy fields like General Michael Hayden, Paul Lettow, and Fran Townsend.

The program is designed to fit your busy schedule. It will run from March through October, beginning with a half-day introductory session. Thereafter, the fellows will meet at least one evening per month.

March - Orientation and Marshall Fellowship Alumni + Current Fellows Happy Hour

April - Dinner & Discussion w/ Guest Speaker

May - Staff Ride to Gettysburg, PA

May - Dinner & Discussion w/ Guest Speaker

June - Dinner & Discussion w/ Guest Speaker

July - Dinner & Discussion w/ Alumni Panel

August - Staff Ride to Marshall International Center and Yalta Conference Team Preparation

September Dinner & discussion w/ Guest Speaker

October - Staff Ride/Yalta Conference Simulation and Graduation Dinner 

George C. Marshall Fellowship

George C. Marshall Fellowship

Jan 9, 2019

General Hayden discusses national security and intelligence with the Marshall Fellows

Bust of General George C. Marshall at the Marshall museum at VMI

Roosevelt, Churchill and Roosevelt before the Marshall Fellows Yalta Conference simulation

Churchill and Stalin negotiate at the Marshall Fellows Yalta Conference simulation

The American, British and Soviet teams meet for negotiations at the Marshall Fellows Yalta Conference simulation at VMI


The Heritage Foundation today announced its 2019 selections for the esteemed George C. Marshall Fellows Program.

This year’s fellows come from a wide variety of backgrounds in Congress, the defense arena, and the private sector:

  • Nicolas Adams, National Security Advisor, U.S. Senate
  • Elizabeth Adadi, Foreign Affairs Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Joseph Bartlett, Legislative Assistant, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Michael Bender, Senior International Security Analyst, Georgetown Research
  • Andrew P. Braun, Military and Veterans Affairs Policy Director, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Christina Brown, Events Coordinator, Center of European Policy Analysis
  • Michael Callesen, Legislative Correspondent, U.S. Senate
  • Ronald M. Criscuolo, Foreign Affairs Officer, U.S. Department of State Chris Cottrell, Senior Associate, Guidehouse
  • Halie L. Craig, Legislative Assistant, U.S. Senate
  • Jack Detsch, Pentagon Correspondent,
  • Al-Monitor Mahmoud El-Hamalawy, Public Affairs & Communications Manager, U.S. Department of State
  • Alexandra N. Gutowski, Associate,
  • Grant Thornton LLP Darren Hedlund, Legislative Director, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Tzvi Kahn, Senior Iran Analyst, Foundation for Defense of Democracies
  • Michaila Lindow, Legislative Assistant, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Kevin Marsh, Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Tony Morash, Manager, Deloitte Consulting LLP
  • Jordan A. Pic, Scheduler, U.S. House of Representatives
  • David Rader, Manager, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Nicolette Roque, Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Robby Stephany Smith, Deputy Legislative Director, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Aaron Strickland, Deputy Military Legislative Assistant, U.S. Senate
  • Katherine E. Thompson, Legislative Correspondent, U.S. Senate
  • Elad M. Vaida, Government Relations Associate, Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation
  • Rachel Wolpert, Executive Assistant, The Heritage Foundation

Don't fight the problem, decide it.

George C. Marshall