Makers of Political Thought

American History

Makers of Political Thought

The Signing of the Constitution of the United States at the Constitutional Convention of 1787. Oil painting on canvas by Howard Chandler Christy, 1940. GraphicaArtis / Contributor / Getty Images



Featured Thinker: Adam Smith

Adam Smith


Adam Smith

John Adams

Orestes Brownson

William F. Buckley Jr.

Edmund Burke

Whittaker Chambers

Winston Churchill

Calvin Coolidge

Herbert D. Croly

John Dewey

Frederick Douglass

Richard T. Ely

Benjamin Franklin

Betty Friedan

Barry Goldwater

Alexander Hamilton

Friedrich Hayek

Thomas Jefferson

Lyndon B. Johnson

Martin Luther King Jr.

Russell Kirk

James Madison

John Marshall

Edwin Meese

Charles Merriam

Frank Meyer

Barack Obama

John Rawls

Ronald Reagan

Theodore Roosevelt

Franklin D. Roosevelt

William Howard Taft

Alexis de Tocqueville

Booker T. Washington

George Washington

James Wilson

Woodrow Wilson