Heritage Founder Ed Feulner Receives 2018 William F. Buckley Jr. Prize


Heritage Founder Ed Feulner Receives 2018 William F. Buckley Jr. Prize

October 19th, 2018

The National Review Institute honored Heritage Foundation founder Dr. Edwin J. Feulner with the 2018 William F. Buckley Jr. Prize for Leadership in Political Thought at its fifth annual awards dinner in Chicago on Oct. 18. 

The prize, first awarded in 2014, was created to preserve and advance the legacy of Buckley, the preeminent thought leader of the modern conservative movement, and inspire others to champion the cause of liberty and a free society. In addition to being a prolific author of more than 50 books, Buckley founded National Review in 1955 and hosted the public affairs television show, “Firing Line,” for 33 years.

Feulner, a native of Chicago, founded Heritage in 1973 and served as its president for more than 36 years. Under his leadership, Heritage transformed from a small policy shop into America’s powerhouse of conservative ideas. Feulner is the author of nine books and currently serves as chairman of Heritage’s Asian Studies Center and Chung Ju-yung fellow.

Heritage Foundation President Kay Coles James, Executive Vice President Kim Holmes, and Board of Trustees Chairman Barb Van Andel-Gaby joined other Heritage staff in Chicago for National Review Institute’s awards presentation.

“Ed Feulner is not just a leader of the conservative movement; he is a true visionary,” said James. “He transformed the role of think tanks in Washington. Ed proved they could actually drive the public debate by pairing research, data, and analysis with sound policy solutions and innovative ideas.”

James added, “Deemed a titan in the conservative movement, Ed truly believes conservatives are a force that cannot be ignored or dismissed and our continued success will be measured by our ability to add and multiply, not divide and subtract.”

The National Review Institute said Feulner has displayed a lifetime of “exceptional leadership” and is a “powerhouse of William F. Buckley Jr’s ideas, and one of NRI’s most valued partners.”

“Bill Buckley was an indispensable conservative—a traditionalist always open to new ideas, a founder of vibrant intellectual institutions, from the National Review to the Philadelphia Society,” said Feulner. “To receive an award that memorializes this titan of the movement jogs many wonderful memories of time spent in his company, of wisdom received, of fierce debate, and of highly immoderate laughter. This is a most appreciated honor.”

Previous recipients of the William F. Buckley Jr. Prize for Leadership in Political Thought include Charles Krauthammer, Victor Davis Hanson, George Shultz, and Tom Wolfe.

In addition to Feulner’s award, Heritage Foundation member Karen Buchwald Wright received the National Review Institute’s Prize for Leadership in Supporting Liberty. The National Review Institute credited Wright “for her support and leadership of organizations that strengthen American democratic principles.” Wright serves as the CEO of the Ariel Corp., the director and chairman of the Ariel Foundation, and a trustee of National Review Institute.