2019 Index of Economic Freedom


The Index of Economic Freedom is the product of intense collaboration with people and organizations around the world. We wish to express our gratitude to the myriad individuals serving with various international organizations, research institutions, government agencies, embassies, and other organizations who provide the data used in the Index.

The Heritage Foundation’s Center for International Trade and Economics (CITE) leads the Index production effort and is responsible for the grading and ranking of all countries. Led by Research Coordinator Patrick Tyrrell, CITE interns Patrick Farrell, Julia Howe, Spencer McCloy, Alex Miller, Vincent Miozzi, Caleb Pascoe, Amanda Snell, and Bradley Tune provided significant research and quality control throughout the year.

Various Heritage Foundation foreign policy experts who provided country background information include Bruce Klingner, Riley Walters, and Director Walter Lohman of the Asian Studies Center; Daniel Kochis of the Margaret Thatcher Center for Freedom; and Joshua Meservey, Jim Phillips, Ana Quintana, and Director Luke Coffey of the Douglas and Sarah Allison Center for Foreign Policy.

Senior Editor William T. Poole bears primary responsibility for perfecting the language we employ, and Manager of Data Graphics Services John Fleming and Data Graphics Specialist and Editorial Associate Luke Karnick created the wonderful charts and graphs that appear throughout the book. Therese Pennefather, Director of Research Editors, played a key role in keeping the production on schedule. Senior Designer Jay Simon was responsible for the design and layout of the Index.

The transformation of the Index into electronic formats is made possible by the efforts of Director of Digital Maria Sousa and Director of Information Technology Tim McGovern and his team, which includes Isabel Isidro and former Heritage staffer Jim Lawruk.

Mrs. Kay Coles James, President of The Heritage Foundation, and Executive Vice President Dr. Kim R. Holmes, who was a founding editor of the Index, have been enthusiastic supporters and great sources of encouragement in producing this flagship product of The Heritage Foundation. Dr. James Jay Carafano, Vice President for the Kathryn and Shelby Cullom Davis Institute for National Security and Foreign Policy, provided advice and assistance throughout the year.

As we celebrate the 25th edition of the Index, we wish to acknowledge our enduring debt to Ambassador J. William Middendorf II; Dr. Edwin J. Feulner, Founder and former President of The Heritage Foundation; and former Executive Vice President and Senior Adviser Philip N. Truluck. Without their vision and support, this project could never have become a reality and achieved such success over the past 25 years.

Ambassador Terry Miller
Anthony B. Kim
James M. Roberts
January 2019

Heritage Media Contacts

  • Jim Weidman
    • Director, Editorial Services
    • work: 202.608.6145

Heritage Research Contacts

Join our Email List

Get updates on the ongoing policy battles in Washington and around the country.

Back to Top